The Irish Poor Law Act of 1838, modelled after the English Act of 1834, initially divided Ireland into 130 poor law unions, each centred around a workhouse. These unions were managed by a board of poor law guardians, comprising both elected members and appointed local magistrates.
Originally, the system was designed to support 1% of the population (approximately 80,000 people). However, by March 1851, the famine had forced nearly 4% of the population into workhouses.
Throughout the 19th century, poor law unions took on additional responsibilities, particularly in health, housing and sanitation.
The Local Government Act of 1898 transferred some of these functions to newly established rural district councils, but poor law unions continued to provide poor relief.
In the early 1920s, most poor law unions in southern Ireland (excluding Dublin) were abolished, and workhouses were closed to cut costs. Some workhouses were destroyed during the War of Independence and Civil War, while others were repurposed as county homes or district hospitals.
North Dublin Union (BG/78) and South Dublin Union (BG/79)
The North and South Dublin Unions were two divisions responsible for the administration of poor relief in their respective areas.
The National Archives has minute books and indoor registers relating to both the North and South Dublin Unions from the 1840s.
Following the amalgamation of the North and South Dublin Unions in 1918, the minute books were united into one series, which runs to July 1943.
A fairly complete run of Dublin Union minute books from 1921 to 1943 is available. Currently, access to the post-1918 series of minute books requires the reader to apply in writing and outline the nature of their research. If conducting research on behalf of a living person mentioned in the records, a letter of authorisation is required. Additionally, the reader must sign a form undertaking to respect the confidentiality of the records.
Rathdown Union Poor Law Union (BG/137)
The records of Rathdown Union comprise one of the largest and most representative collections of poor law union records to survive in the country. The minutes run from 1839 – 1943 while the outward letter books run from 1875 – 1936 (with some gaps). Indoor relief registers run from 1841 – 1955.
The records include a wide range of twentieth-century operational records relating to finance and relief. The collection also includes a wide variety of records relating to Rathdown No. 1 Rural District Council and some adjoining authorities.
How to access Rathdown Union records
- Minute books: These are detailed records of the meetings and decisions made by the boards of guardians for various poor law unions.
- Rathdown: BG137
- North Dublin Union: BG78
- South Dublin Union: BG79
Please note: The finding aids for these collections are available in the Reading Room. This material is available on microfilm and can be viewed onsite on the same day (MFGS 49/1 – 130).
- Registers of admission and discharge: These records document individuals admitted to and discharged from the workhouses.
- Rathdown: 1841-1920
- North Dublin Union: 1840-1918
- South Dublin Union: 1840-1918
Please note: The finding aids for these collections are available in the Reading Room. This material is available on microfilm and can be viewed onsite on the same day (MFGS 52/1 – 71) .
- Smaller collections: The National Archives also holds smaller collections for:
- Balrothery Union, County Dublin
- Bawnboy Union (part of County Cavan)
- Dromore West Union (part of County Sligo)
This material is available on microfilm and can be viewed onsite on the same day (MFGS 49/1 – 130). These collections, while smaller, offer valuable insights into the local administration of poor relief.
Additional records
Orders and correspondence: The archives include orders made by the poor law commissioners and the local government board from 1839 to 1921. These documents provide context on the regulatory framework and the directives issued to the poor law unions.
Dáil Éireann Department of Local Government Files: Covering the period from 1919 to 1923, these files offer insights into the transition period and the changes in local government and poor relief administration during the early years of the Irish Free State.
These records are invaluable for researchers studying social history, genealogy, and the impact of the poor law system on Irish society.